For the Loveliness of it All

“I love spring anywhere, but if I could choose I would always greet it in a garden.” ~Ruth Stout

Crocus Again

Why, some of you may ask, am I so drawn to gardening? Granted, toiling in the earth has its downsides, like the aching back I will soon be complaining of, the chewing bugs, and inevitable weather affronts, but nothing is more uplifting to the spirit than a fair day in and among growing things. The joyous sights of new life returning to our beautiful valley after a long winter, the delectable scents and sounds…the trill of a meadowlark, the song sparrow singing overhead as I plant seeds in the crumbly brown ground…the swoop and soaring of the first butterfly…the pussy willow bursting with fuzzy catkins…the glowing crocus. Snow still obscures the landscape and cold wind nips my face, but the forecast promises better days and I shall soon be out sniffing the air with profound appreciation. The barnyard geese are fussy. Egg laying shall commence.

Early spring in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia

The delights of spring are almost upon us. There’s always a moment that catches and holds me transfixed, and in that moment, all is perfect. All is lovely. My piece of heaven on earth.~

***Images of crocus from last year and spring in the valley taken by my mom in past years.

For more on me visit my blog: One Writer’s Way: bethtrissel.wordpress.com

About bethtrissel

Married to my high school sweetheart, I live on a farm in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia with my human family and furbabies. An avid gardener, my love of herbs and heirloom plants figures into my work. The rich history of Virginia, the Native Americans, and the people who journeyed here from far beyond her borders are at the heart of my inspiration. I'm especially drawn to colonial America and the American Revolution. And I love a good ghost story. In addition to historical romance, I also write time travel, paranormal, YA fantasy romance, and nonfiction. I'm published by The Wild Rose Press and have indie titles. Contact Me: bctrissel@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to For the Loveliness of it All

  1. Mona Risk says:

    I love the Bluebonnet of Texas. In Ohio, the first crocus poking through the snow announces that Spring is here or will be here next week.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. nitethyme says:

    Beautifully written. I was there in that garden! But if I were the plants would be begging for mercy.

    Like

  3. Josie says:

    Beautiful thoughts, Beth, and beautiful post.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. marymarvella says:

    Your posts are always lovely, Beth!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

