If you have a dream

POST WRITTEN BY DEBBY GRAHL

If you have a dream, don’t  get discouraged.

Since this is my first blog with The Pink Fuzzy Slippers Writers, I thought I’d share the roller-coaster ride I had in getting my first book, The Silver Crescent, published.

It all began three years ago when I pitched the book at a conference. An editor of a new small press told me to send him the first three chapters, which I did. A few weeks later he requested the entire MS.

My hopes built. Could it really happen this time? Then early one morning I received the email all new writers pray for — the offer of a contract. Needless to say, I was ecstatic. I phoned and emailed all my friends and relatives and walked on a cloud for days.

The editing process began, but after working on six chapters our communication began to lag to the point I was afraid something was wrong. Well, I was right. After I sent many emails, I finally received a phone call informing me that due to financial difficulties the publisher would have to close their doors.

I was devastated. After a long cry and days of moping around the house, I picked myself up and once again sent the MS to another new small press.

After a short time, I received another contract for the book and we began the editing process.

This time we actually got to the point that advanced review copies (ARCs) were sent out, and we were going to press. I had the thrill of actually holding a copy of my book in my hand. Then I received an email telling me they were very sorry, but due to personal circumstances they were closing their doors.

Imagine my state of mind! I was beyond devastated; I was crushed. I was on the brink of giving up when my editor from the second publisher suggested I send the MS to The Writer’s Coffee Shop publishing house.

So once again I picked myself up and sent it off.

I received a contract offer one month later, and The Silver Crescent has finally found a home and is doing very well! And I signed a second contract for Rue Toulouse  which was released this past January.

Therefore, the moral of this story is: if you’re confident about your work, keep pursuing your dream and never give up.

This entry was posted in Contemporary, Life's surprises and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to If you have a dream

  1. nitethyme says:

    Reblogged this on Linda Nightingale…Wordsmith and commented:

    Everyone who has walked this road has stumbled over rocks. I had to reblog Debby’s post as inspiration to others who might be struggling along the road to publication. Take heart!

    Like

  2. Josie says:

    Never give up! Good for you, Debby. Your inspiring story proves that talent, dedication, and hard work pays off.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mary Ricksen says:

    Persistence can pay off!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. bethtrissel says:

    Great story of perseverance. Way to hang in there.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. debjulienne says:

    So proud of you, your persistence paid off and now you’re here…welcome!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. marymarvella says:

    Debbie, we are so glad you didn’t give up! We’ve all been there and wear the same t-shirt! WELCOME, NEW PINK FUZZY SLIPPER AUTHOR!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. marymarvella says:

    Reblogged this on MaryMarvella and commented:

    Come welcome the newest Pink Fuzzy Slipper author!

    Like

  8. You hung in there until your dream came true. That’s what it takes to sell to traditional publishers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

