Friendship

As you go through life, many friendships are made. Some come and go, but there are those that last a lifetime. Whether you live close or far away, that special bond is there and will never be broken. You know you can count on them to listen to you for hours while you cry over a broken heart. They’ll comfort you when a loved one is lost. They’ll laugh with you, cry with you, act silly with you and keep your deepest secrets. They’ll cheer you when you’re down and encourage you when your confidence needs a boost. And most of all, they’ll help you pick out the perfect pair of shoes.
I’m visiting such a friend whom I’ve known for thirty-seven years. Her family became my family, and she’s more like a sister to me. Even though circumstances kept us apart for many years, when we were reunited it was as if we hadn’t been apart. We sit on her back deck in the early morning drinking coffee and reminisce about years gone by. We giggle like teenage girls over past escapades and marvel at how life can so quickly change, taking you in a direction you hadn’t expected.
As I prepare to leave, sadness fills my heart, but, no matter how far away I am, I know she’ll always be just a phone call away.

About Debby Grahl

Romance author. My first book, The Silver Crescent, a paranormal romance was released Jan, 2014. Rue Toulouse, a romantic suspense set in New Orleans, is available now.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Friendship

  1. marymarvella says:

    Debby, I have several friends like this and I treasure them more than I say! Thanks for reminding me.

    Like

  2. Yes, friends such as this are a special treasure.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. nitethyme says:

    I am lucky enough to have several such friends, some of them members of the PFS. I enjoyed your post Debby. Linda

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Josie says:

    You’re fortunate to have such a wonderful friend. I’ve always said that old friends are the best friends. Mine is a friend I met the first day of Kindergarten. We’re still in touch 55 years later.

    Like

  5. Lizzi Newton says:

    Lovely. A beautifully written sentiment.

    Like

  6. Mona Risk says:

    What a beautiful post. I have several great friends that I can’t live without.

    Like

  7. Thanks everyone for your wonderful responses to my blog. I’ve been traveling and unable to connect to the internet.
    All my best, Debby

    Like

Leave a Reply

