MARKETING, PROMOTION, HA!

Posted for Mary Ricksen:

Does this remind you of something?

Buster Brown

When we, that is, the people my age, were kids; everything was sold by the jingle that represented the product.

Does your shoe have a boy inside, what a funny place for a boy to hide?

Does your shoe have a dog there too, a boy and a dog and a foot in a shoe.

Well, the boy is, Buster Brown, and the dog is Tige his friend, and it’s really just a picture;

but, it’s fun to play pretend.

So look, look, look, in the telephone book, for the store that sells this shoe.

With the picture of the boy and the dog inside, so you can put your foot in too!

 “The logo of the company is a little creepy, don’t you think? A one-eyed boy and a gnarling dog. Yeah…nothing says kiddie shoes like that! Cartoonist, Richard Outcault, created, Buster, and his dog, Tige in 1902. It was originally just a comic strip. The shoe company bought the rights to the boy and dog logo for $200. Live actors were hired to portray the boy (and a real live dog) at many popular appearances around the country.

Still, it’s a little scary don’t you think? (Did you own a pair?)” Re: Boomer Café

Now, why did this stick in my head? Terrific marketing! That’s why. They drummed these jingles into our heads till we wanted those darn shoes!!

Does the verse below ring a bell?:

You’ll wonder where the yellow went, when you brush your teeth with Pepsodent.” I still use the stuff.

Or do I need to tell you about this one?:

Double your pleasure, double your fun, with Doublemint, Doublement, Doublemint gum.

I’m still chewing that junk!

Or:

Ho, ho, ho, it’s Cheerios.\

Or:

Ho, ho, ho, it’s Cheerios.\

Gimmie the dang milk, that did it! Forget the small bowl, I got a whole box.

Now in case you’re wondering why I wrote this blog, I’ll be glad to tell you. We are authors, who compete in a field that has hundreds of thousands of shoes, I mean books. What can we do to promote like that?

Now all I have to do is write a jingle to sell books. Hmmmm…

I write books I hope you’ll buy; you might like them if you try. There are many out there; sigh. The odds I’ll sell they sure defy.

If you like time travel; take a look. Chances are you might like my book.

Dang Shoes

 

 

 

Did it work? Probably not, but I still want those dang shoes…

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to MARKETING, PROMOTION, HA!

  1. debjulienne says:

    Marketing…the 9th wonder of the world. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lizzi Newton says:

    This is a great blog! I studied communications in college and one of my classes covered ads and their histories. Remember Uneeda Biscuits or Uneeda Crackers? Bet you can guess where that name came from. Uneeda= You need a. Maybe we should advertise our books as Uneeda Book! Thanks for making me smile this morning. Right now I need to get back to writing.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. The market has changed so drastically in the last few years that it’s left us all scrambling to figure out marketing! Team work and cooperation is probably one of the best ways to go.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. marymarvella says:

    Put your flippers in Pink Fuzzy Slippers! Good job, Mary R!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. nitethyme says:

    I enjoyed this blog and can relate, remembering the jingles, etc. Dating myself, I know, but it’s true. Thanks for a smile, Mary.

    Like

  6. bethtrissel says:

    Fascinating post, Mary.

    Like

Leave a Reply

