Time For Rhubarb Pudding

rhubarbOne of my spring rites is making rhubarb pudding from the plants that have grown along the garden wall since well before my time, and I’ve lived here for several decades.  I’ve added some of the new, deeper red rhubarb plants over the years, but only one has survived.  This improved cultivar seems to lack the vigor of the old.  So I cut a few stalks from it, then return to the faithful clumps for the bulk of my harvest.  Today was my first pilgrimage to the rhubarb patch and I returned to the kitchen with a goodly supply of stalks.  Now the pudding is chilling in the fridge in the big brown and white pottery bowl I’ve had for ages.

I love this stuff.  Not everyone does and rhubarb may be an acquired taste, but many of our little people like it, and young children haven’t had much of an opportunity to acquire a taste.

I don’t use an actual recipe because, as with many old Southern dishes, my mother-in-law taught me how to make this, and I’ve adapted it somewhat, but I’ll take a stab at a recipe for you.

Cut or purchase several good handfuls of rhubarb. The amount can vary. Chop the stems into two-inch pieces and put them in a large saucepan (I use a 2-3 quart one) and barely cover with water.  Simmer, stirring frequently, until the stems are completely broken down.  Then whisk the cooked pieces until smooth.  Season with sugar to taste (I use about one to two cups depending on the amount).  Add two-three heaping tablespoons of instant tapioca (again, depending on how much liquid you’ve used) and simmer until the tiny pearls are clear. Add 2-3 tablespoons of strawberry gelatin and stir until dissolved.  Set mixture aside and chill in fridge until it sets. Add cut up strawberries if available after the pudding has cooled.

Below is an image of our spring garden taken two weeks ago by my DH. The rhubarb plants are in the big leafy green things you see near the compost/manure ready to be spread around them and other vegetables and flowers.

spring garden with rhubarb

About bethtrissel

Married to my high school sweetheart, I live on a farm in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia with my human family and furbabies. An avid gardener, my love of herbs and heirloom plants figures into my work. The rich history of Virginia, the Native Americans, and the people who journeyed here from far beyond her borders are at the heart of my inspiration. I'm especially drawn to colonial America and the American Revolution. In addition to historical romance, I also write time travel, paranormal, YA fantasy romance, and nonfiction. I'm published by The Wild Rose Press and have indie titles. Contact Me: bctrissel@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Time For Rhubarb Pudding

  1. Josie says:

    Great recipe, Beth, and one I’d like to try. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Barbara Monajem says:

    I love rhubarb. I don’t get it often, but I either use it to make rhubarb crisp (like apple crisp but with rhubarb; it’s something like a crumble, but the crumbs contain lots of oats) or I just cook it with some brown sugar and gobble it up like that.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Lizzi Newton says:

    This sounds delicious. I’ve had strawberry rhubarb pie but never rhubarb pudding.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. nitethyme says:

    That sounds so good and who knew rhubarb could be a pie!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Mary Ricksen says:

    Wish I could grown it here!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. marymarvella says:

    I might have to try some!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

