I Wish, I Wish…Oops!

Be careful what you wish for…

I’ve always wanted to make my living writing. When I retired, a friend introduced me to an advertising agency who needed a writer for blogs, white papers, etc. I was so excited when I was given the contract position and the title Content Strategist.  I still like working with the agency and writing the blogs, but I never thought I’d say that I don’t want to write all day.

I took on a project ghostwriting a 30,000-word novella that would be a serial in 4 segments.  Boy, did I struggle with the segment #3.  Our own Mary M. helped me, and I finally finished it.  I have segment 4 plotted out, but it’s getting the time to write it!  With the blogs, rewrites on Gambler’s Choice, my book about the horsey set, and trying to revise/cut another book that I hope The Wild Rose Press will contract—whew, I can’t get time to clean house.  One thing, the computer and I are inseparable.

Like the novella, I don’t take credit for the writing the blogs, but it makes me happy when the client likes what I’ve done, and it validates me as a writer, too. There is a sense of achievement.

So, I got inspired today and wrote a few thousand words on the novella, turned out a difficult blog, and cleaned house! YAY!

I guess after I said Be careful what you wish for, that I am quite happy doing what I’m doing.  I’ll be glad to finish the novella. The payment wasn’t bad, but I don’t think I’ll jump into another one.  I want to work on the revision of my fallen angel story.

Would you want to spend hours at the computer everyday if it was writing?

Happy Friday!  Linda

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Wish, I Wish…Oops!

  1. marymarvella says:

    I already do, except when I’m editing. I like helping brainstorm!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Josie says:

    You are definitely describing my dream job, Linda. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mary Ricksen says:

    Sure, no one ever offered me a job! LOL

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

