Having a Fan

Deborah Grahl book signingAs readers of romance, we’ve all experienced the eager anticipation of actually meeting one of our favorite authors. Some of us have stood in line for hours just to hear them speak.

I recently had an incident  that made all the hours of writing, all the rejection letters, and all the rewrites worth every minute. I had a book signing where there were at least fifty people. This in itself thrilled me.  As people began to line up  in front of my table for me to sign my books, an excited reader stopped and told me how much she loved my books and just couldn’t wait for my next one. I can’t express the emotion I felt.  I’m a newly published author, and here was this person acting as excited to meet me as I do when I go to see one of my favorite authors. Not only did I feel immense pleasure knowing something I’ve written has given someone such enjoyment, they inspired me to continue writing.

small+Rue-Toulouse-3D-Book-StackMy latest release, Rue Toulouse, is getting such wonderful reviews — I hope you don’t mind but I’m so excited I wanted to share a few snippets and a little teaser from the book.

5-stars – Laure E reviewed Rue Toulouse : Absolutely Riveting! July 3, 2015

“Fantastic book, I didn’t want to put it down!”

5-stars – daneweimmama reviewed Rue Toulouse : Great Suspense! July 8, 2015

“This romance/suspense thriller keeps you engaged from the very first page.”

5 stars – Melena reviewed Rue Toulouse : Can a Swamp Rat from other side of the tracks get his Princess? “Now the love scenes, boy, they sure make them hot in New Orleans, let me tell you.”

The Blurb…

Fashion designer Caterine Doucette attends a masquerade ball dressed as a shimmering ice princess where she encounters ex-cop Remi Michaud, disguised as the handsome pirate Jean Lafitte. The princess and the pirate come together for one unforgettable night of passion.

When Caterine inherits the family’s exclusive boutique, Ma Chérie, an attempt is made on her life, for someone in the Doucette household will stop at nothing to possess what they feel is rightfully theirs.

Remi, working for a private security company, sets out to unmask Caterine’s would-be assassin, but finds himself torn between his desire for her and painful memories of another socialite’s betrayal.

Falling for Remi, Caterine struggles with old embedded pain, leaving her afraid to open herself to love.

In the heart of the Big Easy, the two must learn to trust one another if they’re to survive in a world of family greed and ruthless revenge.

at home--patio deck French deisgnA Little Excerpt

With a wicked grin, he whispered, “When it comes to pleasing a lovely lady, I try to do everything well.”

Caterine couldn’t hold back a smile. “Oh, I’ll bet you do.”

They had stepped away from the dancers and accepted glasses of water from a passing waiter. “Now, monsieur, shouldn’t you introduce yourself?”

“My apologies for being so remiss.” He stepped back and gave her a gallant bow. “Jean Lafitte at your service.”

She grinned. “A pirate. I should have known.”

“Do you not like pirates?”

“I can’t say I’ve ever met one, but I’ve heard they can be rather dangerous.”

A slow smile spread across his face. “A little danger can be exciting, Princess.”

Again he was standing close, filling her senses with his seductive voice and spicy cologne. The heat from his body had Caterine imagining being held in his arms on a sun-drenched beach while turquoise water lapped around their feet. His mouth was now inches from hers. “Come away with me, and I’ll show you.”

Come away with him. Oh, yes, how she’d love to run away with this pirate. Caterine’s fevered imagination now had them in each others’ arms on the deck of a gently rocking ship under a star-strewn sky. When his lips brushed gently across hers, the image changed to show him lowering her onto a bed of soft down. At the sound of his low chuckle, she blinked rapidly to wipe away the erotic scene.

“I’m sorry, what did you say?”

He smiled at her as if he could read her mind. “I said you look a little flushed. Would you like to go out onto the gallery where it’s cooler?”

She took a nervous step back and stammered, “It is rather warm in here, isn’t it.”

His knowing smile widened. “Exceedingly so. Shall we?” He took her hand and led her through the nearest open door.~

Posted by Beth Trissel for ***Deborah Grahl

Follow Deborah on: http://www.debbygrahl.com/
https://www.facebook.com/debbygrahlauthor?ref=br_rs

About bethtrissel

Married to my high school sweetheart, I live on a farm in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia with my human family and furbabies. An avid gardener, my love of herbs and heirloom plants figures into my work. The rich history of Virginia, the Native Americans, and the people who journeyed here from far beyond her borders are at the heart of my inspiration. I'm especially drawn to colonial America and the American Revolution. In addition to historical romance, I also write time travel, paranormal, YA fantasy romance, and nonfiction. I'm published by The Wild Rose Press and have indie titles. Contact Me: bctrissel@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Having a Fan

  1. bethtrissel says:

    Wonderful reviews and experience! How rewarding. The book sounds fabulous too.

    Like

  2. Josie says:

    How exciting. Such a wonderful experience and looks like a great read.

    Like

  3. marymarvella says:

    Thanks for sharing this and your fun!

    Like

  4. Debby Grahl says:

    Thanks for the warm response!

    Like

  5. Debby Grahl says:

    I have no idea why my comment worked, but, thank what ever God was looking after me!

    Like

  6. maryricksen says:

    It wouldn’t let me comment. But, I sooo get it Debby! It’s a real self esteem raiser. hugs, Mary

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

