Friday Wilde Wisdom–Oscar that is!

AustenThis handsome devil is just for eye candy!

 

 

 

The canons of good society are, or should be, the same as the canons of art. Form is absolutely essential to it.

A little sincerity is a dangerous thing, and a great deal of it is absolutely fatal.

“Oh, can it be

There is some immortality in sin,

Which virtue has not?

They do not sin at all

Who sin for love.”

The only difference between the saint and the sinner is that every saint has a past, and every sinner has a future.

Have a Wilde Friday!

Linda

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Friday Wilde Wisdom–Oscar that is!

  1. Josie says:

    Thanks for the eye candy! Love the differences between the saint and the sinner.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. marymarvella says:

    What a way with words!

    Like

  3. Thanks for sharing Linda!

    Like

  4. I love Oscar Wilde and have read and own many of his works. A Picture of Dorian Gray is possible one of my most favorites.

    However, the work I love best is Letters from Oscar Wilde, which was not published completely until 1960.
    I wanted to eat of the fruit of all the trees in the garden of the world… And so, indeed, I went out, and so I lived. My only mistake was that I confined myself so exclusively to the trees of what seemed to me the sun-lit side of the garden, and shunned the other side for its shadow and its gloom. From: De Profundis

    Hmm, I think I’ll read The importance of Being Earnest this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. nitethyme says:

    I love that quote. Thanks for sharing. Did you read The Importance of Being Earnest? Linda

    Like

Leave a Reply

