“Listen! the wind is rising, and the air is wild with leaves.”

“Autumn burned brightly, a running flame through the mountains, a torch flung to the trees.” ~Faith Baldwin

West of our farm near the Alleghenies

Fall is my favorite season. I’m deliriously exuberant in the spring, and as busy as a mad hen with all my many gardening endeavors, but fall is a wonderful wind down time. Sure, there’s tidying up to do in the garden and flower beds,  bulbs to plant, some acorn squash and pumpkins to get in…but the weeds don’t drive me as insane as they did earlier in the year. Like the season, I’m more mellow now. I can breathe, and gaze about my lovely farm and valley, admire the spectacular color in the hazy ridges. We live in one of the most heavenly places on earth. I call our valley ‘the Shire.’ Fall is a sumptuous feast for the senses.

With few exceptions, I’ve set my stories in autumn.  My new YA fantasy romance series, Secret Warrior, takes place in the fall in our misty mountains. Traitor’s Curse, my upcoming ghostly Gothic historical romance release, is set in late autumn. Unless the time period for a story needs to be spring or summer, or winter for a Christmas theme, I always choose fall. There’s coziness in front of a crackling hearth, while outdoors, foggy tendrils entwine the scarlet leaves and obscure the darkening path through the woods. Fall is an intriguing combination of coziness and mystery.

  1. Recently, I showed my six-year-old grandson, and eight year-old granddaughter some of my book covers. Little Owen misunderstood and thought we were looking at viewing options. He pointed to the cover of The Hunter’s Moon (Book One in my YA series) and said, “I want to watch THAT movie!” His sister also liked it, and thought the cover of Traitor’s Curse looked like an interesting story. So, I have two potential fans. More on my new YA series soon!

If you don’t live where fall is glorious, and can’t tap into the inspiration all around you, then share in mine.~

“Winter is an etching, spring a watercolor, summer an oil painting and autumn a mosaic of them all.” ~Stanley Horowitz

“Autumn’s the mellow time.” ~William Allingham

(Images by my mom, Pat Churchman)

“Delicious autumn! My very soul is wedded to it, and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth seeking the successive autumns.” ~George Eliot

“Autumn is a second spring where every leaf is a flower.”~Albert Camus

“I cannot endure to waste anything as precious as autumn sunshine by staying in the house. So I spend almost all the daylight hours in the open air.” ~Nathaniel Hawthorne

“Every leaf speaks bliss to me,

Fluttering from the autumn tree.” ~Emily Bronte

(Our farm. Image by daughter Elise. She’s pictured above as a child with her little friend hiding by a tree in the woods behind our farm.)

For more on me visit my blog: https://bethtrissel.wordpress.com/

About bethtrissel

Married to my high school sweetheart, I live on a farm in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia with my human family and furbabies. An avid gardener, my love of herbs and heirloom plants figures into my work. The rich history of Virginia, the Native Americans, and the people who journeyed here from far beyond her borders are at the heart of my inspiration. I'm especially drawn to colonial America and the American Revolution. And I love a good ghost story. In addition to historical romance, I also write time travel, paranormal, YA fantasy romance, and nonfiction. I'm published by The Wild Rose Press and have indie titles. Contact Me: bctrissel@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “Listen! the wind is rising, and the air is wild with leaves.”

  1. Josie says:

    Gorgeous and inspiring post, Beth!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Debby Grahl says:

    Beth I loved your post. I grew up in Michigan and fall is one of my favorite times of year. I miss the smell of wood smoke and walking through crunchy leaves. I now live on Hilton Head where there’s no fall color, but I do have a beautiful beach, so I’m not complaining too much.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beth your pictures are always so beautiful! Fall is my favorite time of year also. Thanks for sharing you pictures.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. marymarvella says:

    WOW!, Beth! Lovely images with words and pictures!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

