How do you find a missing muse?

Black-Swan-Animated-bannerThis is the cover for the first story I ever had published.

People ask, quite seriously, why I don’t write legal thrillers.  For eight years, I worked for a Circuit Judge and saw enough to write a thriller but when I write I want to escape my world and visit someone else’s.  It is particularly fun when you can create the world and the someone else.

My favorite hero (in my books) is Morgan D’Arcy.  He came to me full-blown, no character questions or sheets, because he is the man I’d like to meet – other than the fact that he is a vampire.  He is also a concert pianist and a British lord.  So I get to be romanced and fall in love as my heroine does.

Morgan

As writers we want to transport our readers to that universe of our creation, peopled with our characters.  If we succeed, the characters leap off the page and into the imagination of the readers.  They then take on a life of their own and are memorable.  Example:  Rhett Butler, Lestat, you get the drift.

Usually I begin with one character who begins to tell me his story, then another mounts the stage and another until I have a full cast, all clamoring to tell the story. Or at least that was how it was until a recent book signing which was quite a big affair.  I was invisible, I guess.  Very few people came to my table.  I only sold 2 books, one of them Gemini Rising, my controversial dark fantasy, and the other Sinners’ Opera. While other authors had people lining up at their table for autographs.

Since then, I have not put pen to paper or written a word.  I’m hoping that when I get my rewrites on the Morgan stories contracted by The Wild Rose Press and the book currently called Redemption—title to be changed, I will be able to gather some encouragement and inspiration to go on.

Would other writers care to share how their characters are born?

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to How do you find a missing muse?

  1. Josie says:

    Usually a main character, usually the hero, comes knocking at my door first. Then the heroine and supporting characters, and then the plot!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Debby Grahl says:

    I usually begin with the plot. I make an outline, then create the characters. I have to admit I’m having a hard time getting going on my new book. I have the idea, but seem to constantly get distracted with other things.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. nitethyme says:

    You are a very organized author. I’m a pantster. Thanks for dropping by and sharing, Debby. Linda

    Like

  4. marymarvella says:

    It differs. I might create a problem and ask myself who would least need to be in that situation or a character might appear and I try to think what he or she needs least to have happen and where I want to situation to end.

    Like

  5. marymarvella says:

    Who least needs
    OOPS

    Like

  6. I usually develop the character and fit the story to them. It seems easier to build a plot that way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

