Happy Mother’s Day!

Today for a chuckle, I’m sharing a post from my favorite writer, a classic Dave Barry post about learning to drive (with his mother.)  Happy reading!

picjumbo.com_HNCK9042

“When I learned to drive a stick shift, it took me a while. My mother taught me, and I can remember the two of us yelling at each other a lot as the car, with me at the controls, would lurch forward two feet, then stall, two feet, stall, two feet, stall, and so on, causing our heads to be flung violently back and forward, back and forward, like human windshield wipers. To travel just one mile that way would have required several weeks and thousands of aspirin.”

Do you have a funny story about spending time with your Mom? Please share your comment below to win a copy of my ebook novella, I Love You More, about international adoption and forever families.

ilym-small-for-web

In the meantime: check out my Amazon giveaway:

‪#‎AmazonGiveaway It’s back and even better! Enter to win a free copy of I Love You More!

https://giveaway.amazon.com/p/3a2efc2c98d5b3bd

No purchase necessary.

And coming soon: Oh Danny Boy, set in Ireland. Stay tuned!

odb small for web2

 

Author Josie Riviera lives in the Charlotte, NC, area with her wonderfully supportive husband of 40 years. They share their empty nest with an adorable Shih Tzu who constantly needs grooming and an old house forever needing renovations.
“Like” her on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Josie.Riviera
sign up for her blog and subscribe to her newsletter on her website: josieriviera.wordpress.com
Follow her on twitter: @josieriviera
Instagram: josie_riviera

To all the Moms–sit back, relax, and enjoy your special day.

 

This entry was posted in children and family, Contemporary, Romance. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. There are so many, it’s hard to choose just one, but…it would have to be when my husband and I went to my mom and dad’s for dinner. She had to feed the cats first and they were in my parents’ bedroom waiting. She called “Okay, are you coming in or not?” My husband was in the living room, reading a book (he took a book everywhere he went kind of like Rory on “Gilmore Girls) and he said, “Yeah–I’ll be there in a second.” I tried to re-create this story in my novella “Sweeter Than
    W(h)ine.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jo Anne V says:

    I remember riding the Ferris Wheel with my Mom when I was little and something happen and it broke down and we were is the seat at the very top — I remember my Mom telling me stories and jokes and we sang songs to keep our minds off what was happening as we were stuck up there for awhile until they fixed it . ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Josie says:

      Jo Anne,
      I’ve been at the top of a Ferris Wheel, and it’s scary up there. Your Mom was smart to keep your mind off of what was happening.

      Like

    • Josie says:

      Also, congrats! You’ve won a copy of I Love You More, my sweet ebook novella about international adoption. ! I’ll email you privately for details.

      Like

  3. Lyn Ehley says:

    Mom and I would take road trips since I was the youngest. She was driving and driving after missing her turn. I asked her if we were lost. She said we are never lost, the road ends somewhere! This is a thought I have carried with me through life’s trials.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. marymarvella says:

    There was the time Mama hit the red button on an elevator and left me standing inside with my mouth open while she moved far away from there.
    Then there was the time Mama squatted down to show 2 students books on a library shelf and farted. That story will need to be a blog post. Happy Mother’s Day.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. marymarvella says:

    Reblogged this on MaryMarvella and commented:

    Ask nicely and I’ll tell about Mama’s big bad fart in the library where she worked.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. bethtrissel says:

    A fun post. I don’t remember driving my mom crazy but I went through three driving instructors before I got my license.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

