Discovering the perfectly affordable Italian mountain town of Calitri, Italy

My husband and I are big fans of HGTV, including the very popular House Hunters International.

One of our favorite shows aired in 2014: Here’s the blurb:

Season 71, Episode 1

Traveling Campania

Nicole is a married mother of two and all her life she’s dreamed of having a little place of her own in Italy to share with her family one day. She’s been saving what she can for years and has been researching areas in Italy where she can find a bargain. Nicole has zeroed in on the medieval hamlet of Calitri in Italy’s Campania region and hopes to find her dream home amidst dozens of properties that have been vacant for decades. Nicole’s mother is along for the search and is somewhat skeptical that her daughter’s savings will be enough to land her a decent home, but Nicole is determined to find herself a great deal. They’ll both find out just how far Nicole’s money will go when House Hunters International visits Campania, Italy.”

We’ll be visiting Calitri, Italy, in July, staying in an airbnb apartment, so I’ll post pictures and let you know of any bargain apartments we find when we return.

calitri2

No, these aren’t paintings. It’s the actual town of Calitri, Italy, with 5,000 inhabitants.

calitri9.jpg,resize

Do you love to watch HGTV? What is your favorite show?

Leave a comment and one lucky winner will receive a free ebook copy of one of my sweet romances. The winner can select their choice of either I Love You More, or A Snowy White Christmas. Winner will be announced May 23rd.

Two books coming soon!

Oh Danny Boy, set in Ireland:

odb small for web2

Seeking Patience, a second edition of my full length Inspirational Regency Historical romance. Cover reveal shortly!

Author Josie Riviera lives in the Charlotte, NC, area with her wonderfully supportive husband of 40 years. They share their empty nest with an adorable Shih Tzu who constantly needs grooming and an old house forever needing renovations.
“Like” her Author Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/Josie.Riviera/

“Friend” her on Facebook:

Sign up for her blog and subscribe to her newsletter on her website: josieriviera.wordpress.com

Follow her on twitter: @josieriviera

Instagram: josie_riviera

 

 

This entry was posted in children and family, Historical, Life's surprises, Romance. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Discovering the perfectly affordable Italian mountain town of Calitri, Italy

  1. Jeanette says:

    Absolutely gorgeous. Another favorite HHI show I loved was Trulli Puglia, Italy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Millie Swank says:

    I love the new tiny house hunter, it amazes me that people can live in such tiny spaces especially with children. I could handle it as long as I didn’t have the loft with a ladder or the compost in the bathroom. I need to be able to flush!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love to see all the places . I love the first photo. I have a friend who lived in italy he longs to go back he said its beautiful and love hearing stories about italy . I allways imagine it be love their. Good luck

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Josie says:

    We’re looking forward to spending time in Calitri, Brenda. I’ll keep you posted.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. We don’t have HGTV here.
    But I used to love watching Extreme Makeover Home Edition, although they were old reruns of episodes that had aired in the US long before (and the guy who dubbed Ty Pennington has the most annoying voice).
    Hope you enjoy your Italian holiday. Have never heard of this town, thanks for letting me know 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Josie says:

    Congrats, Roberta, and thanks for your comments. You’ve won a free ebook copy of either I Love You More, or A Snowy White Christmas. Please email me at josieriviera@aol.com

    Like

  7. Camilla says:

    Beautiful, indeed!

    Like

  8. marymarvella says:

    I always enjoy your blogs even when I get too distracted to check for days!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. bethtrissel says:

    Absolutely stunning pics and place. I travel through you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

