HBO and STARZ Won:

I’m not a TV buff.   In fact, people ask why I own a TV and definitely want to know why I pay for cable.  I didn’t have a good answer for those questions except to say that sometimes I wanted to watch TV.  Then I’d scroll the Guide and find NOTHING.

There are two shows I love – Outlander and Game of Thrones.  I started out several seasons behind on Game of Thrones, but a friend sang its praises until I had to watch it.  I was immediately hooked.  I found Outlander myself, and it was a must!   I fell in love with the hero, Jamie Frasier, a “ginger” (red hair) Scotsman.  I also like Poldark on PBS.

Since I have basic cable and didn’t want to add on HBO and Starz due to their cost, I decided to check to see if either was available from Amazon Prime, Netflix DVD or Streaming.  NOPE. HBO and Starz are very protective of their hit series.  Defeated, and having missed most of this season’s episodes, I surrendered.  Waving a white flag, I called and asked if they had any special promotions.  Luck was with me.  I got both premium channels for the price of HBO alone.  I cabled my laptop to my TV and am currently catching up on the missed episodes of Outlander.  Then on to Game of Thrones.  I believe both series are nearing this season’s end, but I’m still up to date on my two favorite shows.

Quoted From Wikipedia:

“Game of Thrones is an American fantasy drama television series created by David Benioff and D. B. Weiss. It is an adaptation of A Song of Ice and FireGeorge R. R. Martin‘s series of fantasy novels, the first of which is titled A Game of Thrones. It is filmed at Titanic Studios in Belfast and on location elsewhere in Northern Ireland as well as in Croatia, Iceland, Malta, Morocco, Spain, Scotland, and the United States, and premiered on HBO in the United States on April 17, 2011. The sixth season of the series premiered on April 24, 2016.[5] The series was renewed for a seventh season to air in 2017, and is reported to contain seven episodes.[6][7]

The series is set on the fictional continents of Westeros and Essos and interweaves several plot lines with a large ensemble cast. The first narrative arc follows a dynastic conflict among competing claimants for succession to the Iron Throne of the Seven Kingdoms, with other noble families fighting for independence from it; the second covers the attempts to reclaim the throne by the exiled last scion of the realm’s deposed ruling dynasty; the third chronicles the rising threat of the impending winter and the legendary creatures and fierce peoples of the North.”

“Outlander is a British-American television drama series based on the historical time travel Outlander series of novels by Diana Gabaldon. Developed by Ronald D. Moore and produced by Sony Pictures Television and Left Bank Pictures for Starz, the show premiered on August 9, 2014. It stars Caitriona Balfe as Claire Randall, a married World War II nurse in 1945 who finds herself transported back to Scotland in 1743, where she encounters the dashing Highland warrior Jamie Fraser (Sam Heughan) and becomes embroiled in the Jacobite risings.[1][2] The second season, consisting of 13 episodes and based on Dragonfly in Amber, premiered on April 9, 2016.[3] On June 1, 2016, Starz renewed the series for a third and fourth season, which will adapt the third and fourth Outlander novels, Voyager and Drums of Autumn.[4]

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to HBO and STARZ Won:

  1. I can’t afford HBO at all, so I’ve never seen either program. However, I was at the World Sci-Fi convention when Game of Thrones won the Hugo Award, the top award in Sci-Fi/Fantasy, so it must be really good.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Josie says:

    I’m not a TV watcher, either, and only enjoy certain select shows. I’ve never seen Game of Thrones, although it’s on my list because everyone loves it.

    Like

  3. nitethyme says:

    Hey, Josie, try Outlander, too. They are really the only 2 shows I watch on TV. Thus, HBO and Starz won. I had to capitulate and subscribe. Linda

    Like

  4. marymarvella says:

    Both shows are popular!. I only get basic cable.

    Like

Leave a Reply

