September 11th Patriot’s Day

In memory of the nearly 3,000 people who were killed in the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, each year in the United States we observe Patriot Day and the National Day of Service and Remembrance.

fireman-81876_640

On September 10, 2012, President Obama issued a proclamation. The day was renamed Patriot Day and the National Day of Service and Remembrance

On September 11th, the American flag is to be flown at half-staff at American homes, the White House, and all United States government buildings, whether abroad or at home. Also, Americans are asked to observe a moment of silence beginning at 8:46 A.M.(Eastern Daylight Time), because this is the time the first plane struck the North Tower of the World Trade Center. The president also strongly encourages Americans to volunteer for service opportunities that day.

Please share your thoughts and remembrances of that day by leaving a comment.

memorial-834518_640

Save

This entry was posted in children and family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to September 11th Patriot’s Day

  1. Debby Grahl says:

    I was with my family in the Denver airport. We’d been in Colorado for a wedding and were on our way home to Ohio and Michigan. When the first tower was hit, we stood in shock staring at the TV. My husband realized we would be driving home, so he started running to the car rental counter. We were able to get a van, but we were told we couldn’t take it out of the state of Colorado. We said, “Sure.”
    the thing that touched me the most and brought tears to my eyes, was waiting to pick up the van and watching as other vans, cars and pickup trucks were pulling up where people were standing and saying, ” We’re going to Texas, California, Kansas, Montana, etc. Who needs a ride?” People were climbing into vehicles with total strangers. We took a nice man to Nebraska. It didn’t matter where you were from, the color of your skin,your sexual preference or religious beliefs, everyone that day were Americans and we all stuck together.
    My husband is a retired Fire Chief. He knows what his fellow firefighters went through that day. So here’s to all the first responders, God bless all of you!

    I was with my family in the Denver airport. We’d been in Colorado for a wedding and were on our way home to Ohio and Michigan. When the first tower was hit, we stood in shock staring at the TV. My husband realized we would be driving home, so he started running to the car rental counter. We were able to get a van, but we were told we couldn’t take it out of the state of Colorado. We said, “Sure.”
    the thing that touched me the most and brought tears to my eyes, was waiting to pick up the van and watching as other vans, cars and pickup trucks were pulling up where people were standing and saying, ” We’re going to Texas, California, Kansas, Montana, etc. Who needs a ride?” People were climbing into vehicles with total strangers. We took a nice man to Nebraska. It didn’t matter where you were from, the color of your skin,your sexual preference or religious beliefs, everyone that day were Americans and we all stuck together.
    My husband is a retired Fire Chief. He knows what his fellow firefighters went through that day. So here’s to all the first responders, God bless all of you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A truly heartfelt post. I was walking into our office building. Everyone was standing around a TV. I thought for a minute it was a movie when the 2nd plane hit. It was too horrible to be true.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Josie says:

    I remember thinking the same, Linda, that it couldn’t be happening.

    Like

  4. marymarvella says:

    Reblogged this on MaryMarvella and commented:

    I suspect a lot of people remember where they were when the towers fell. I was at my ex husband’s photo studio doing a friend’s makeup for author photos. When my ex yelled a string of expletives I won’t repeat, I rushed into his office, expecting him to be bleeding or injured in some way. Watching the films horrified my friend and me. We went back to our photo prep and once again yells sent us rushing back. We were almost afraid to leave the TV to do the shoot, but we did. After that we had radios playing while we ran errands. but that day we kept waiting for another disaster! The USA was under attack!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. marymarvella says:

    Thank you for the post! I reblogged and added some verbage. One friend who was with me has passed away, so it reminds me of her and our horror/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

