Red Hat Society – Tea and a Red Boa Anyone?

Last year I joined the Red Hat Society, more particularly The Red Hatters of Country Place (my subdivision).  I went on a few excursions, then this year for some reason unbeknownst to my better judgement, I volunteered to be a member of the Activities Committee.  Since the club does one or more events per month, this can be a hefty burden.  I remember organizing the Symphony Luncheons for the Houston Symphony.  But madness set in and my name is now on the committee.  Since I knew Excel, and not to any superhuman degree, I was promptly handed the spreadsheet.  Now, this sounds ominous for one not very talented with numbers.

The Red Hat Society is an international social organization founded in the US in 1998.  Traditionally RHS was for women 50 and older.  Living in a state of denial, it took me a long time to join either AARP or the Red Hat Society.

Who woulda’ thunk it? A California artist, Sue Ellen Cooper, bought a red fedora for a modes $7.50 at a thrift shop and gave it to her friend on the 55th birthday as a reminder to grow older playfully and on her own terms.

The inspiration for this original gift was a poem by Jenny Joseph:  “When I am an old woman, I shall wear purple, with a red hat which doesn’t go and doesn’t suit me.”

img_03081I have my red hat and several purple dresses as well as a top with a red hat embroidered on it. Now, I’m not only dressing the part.  I’ve jumped in over my head. Reminds me of an old country song, “Oh, Roy, oh Roy, is that your hat?”  Doubtless referring to Roy Rogers.  Not to be outdone by other writers, I also bought a pink striped blonde wig!

But now that I am an old woman, I do embrace the perks associated with age.  Retirement and more time.  Less stress and less caring what people think, hence the red hat and purple.

However, I’m not sure volunteering is a such a good idea.  I have a couple of books being released by the first of the year and need that precious commodity Time to promote—that nasty word we all hate.

Speaking of Roy Rogers, Happy Trails to you until we meet again.  Linda

linda-in-gown

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Red Hat Society – Tea and a Red Boa Anyone?

  1. Josie says:

    LOL! Happy trails to you, too, Linda! Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, yeah. Trigger was one gorgeous horse.
    I might consider joining, but I’d rather wear only red because purple is just not my color.

    Like

  3. marymarvella says:

    I considered joining when Haywood Smith wrote The Red Hat Club, a wonderful book, but i saw how busy those women were and chickened out! Enjoy!

    Like

  4. marymarvella says:

    I loved Roy and Dale! “Goodbye, good luck and may the good Lord take a likin’ to ya'”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

