Those Bad Dreams of Being Naked in Public

The flowers have nothing to do with the article. They belong to a neighbor!

20170306_132143_resized

During my teaching days I seldom feared being caught with nothing to teach. I think the dreams of being in my pajamas in front of the classroom were not about teaching.  In those dreams the pajamas, which were inappropriate but covered personal parts, became a night gown, which shrank to thigh length and then to being only a top. Making the situation worse, I would realize I no longer wore undies.

Those dreams always went from bad to worse. At first I was at least covered, but then my clothing would shrink to the point that hiding behind a desk wasn’t enough protection. I don’t think it was about my confidence in my teaching but about something deeper. Or maybe not. What’s deeper than being exposed as a fraud? Maybe feeling people wanted me to fail? Maybe having so little control over my life or my job that I couldn’t even hide under my clothes?  I was a good teacher and could make a lesson from nothing and cover when test copies didn’t appear in my mailbox at school. (We couldn’t print our own tests.) Machines sometimes failed, and other things happened that weren’t within my control.

In those dreams I would eventually be completely naked. Nothing within reach would hide that. Borrowed shirts disappeared and there was no tape to make clothes from papers. The crazy thing is that I have had those dreams even recently. I haven’t been in a classroom for more than 30 years, so the dreams must be about more that teaching.

Last night I prepared for a webinar that didn’t happen. Fortunately for me the audience was small and understanding. I had done my prep. I had lovely and informative slides. I won’t go into the details, but I will try again tonight and hope last night’s technical difficulties will leave me alone!  I am way out of my comfort zone, but it’s part of growing.

I will still have 4 more sessions to do after tonight, so I need to practice a lot more on the set-ups required.

MaryMarvellaEdits   https://www.facebook.com/MaryMarvellaEdits

Editing to improve and polish your writing

And the Cowboys of Clark’s County is LIVE on Amazon.

Esther's Mustang

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Contemporary, Life's surprises, Romance, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Those Bad Dreams of Being Naked in Public

  1. Josie says:

    I think we’ve all had dreams where we’ve felt ill-prepared for something, MM. And, best wishes on your upcoming webinars. Hope you’ve been able to solve your technical difficulties.

    Like

Leave a Reply

