Three Twisted Sisters: Texas Hill Country’s Most Famous Trio

While you can legally drive 80 mph on Texas State Highway 130, also known as the Pickle Parkway, motorcycle and sports car enthusiasts flock to three Hill Country Ranch Roads.  SH 335, 336 and 337, are known throughout Texas as the Twisted Sisters.

A stretch of one of these seemingly pleasant curvy roads starts off pretty straight, but then bucks, snorts, twists and turns in an effort to throw us like a bull in a Bandera rodeo. This is whitetail deer country, and they will pop up at the most inopportune times, like in the middle of a downhill, off camber, decreasing radius turn! Then there’s the occasional cage…they can be as unpredictable as a deer and seem to show up at inopportune times, as well.

I hail from South Carolina and from the time I got my first sports car drove the mountainous curves of North Carolina, Tennessee and northern Georgia.  These curves wind so tight you can almost hear them whine.  Recently, I returned from a visit to my son in Yorkshire.  Let me tell you there are curves in ‘them thar hills’ where you can say hello to your own arse coming around a sharp bend!

I’m looking forward to driving the Twisted Sisters Saturday with my car club.  My license plate surround says it all:  ‘Houston Miata Club – Our members love to go topless’. Another Fuzzy is visiting me, so Toni will be my navigator on this epic adventure.  I trust her to know left from right—which I do not!

Wish us luck as two Fuzzies take on the Three Twisted Sisters, a 100-mile loop twistys with beautiful scenery!

Zoom-Zoom!!

So here’s to Black Magic, his Momma and Toni Sweeney—On the Road Again…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Three Twisted Sisters: Texas Hill Country’s Most Famous Trio

  1. Josie says:

    So much fun!!! Please keep us posted on your adventures.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. marymarvella says:

    You will rock it!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

